Zero 1987
Greg Anton, Steve Kimock, John Farey, Bobby Vega
John Cipollina (1943-1989), Martin Fierro (1942-2008)

Zero was founded by Steve Kimock and Greg Anton in 1980 in Marin County. Their music being a mixture of jazz, rock and blues - free flowing. Soon they were joined by other Bay Area musicians from the psychedelic caravan, sharing the same spirit: John Cipollina, John Kahn, Banana, Martin Fierro, Bobby Vega, John Farey and Steve Wolf.

It's not the vocals that define Zero's music - it's never ending instrumentals - a mental journey if you will. Never chaos though - a well organised trip of musicans who know how to blend their own ways of playing into one way. All being equal and sharing a high quality approach when it comes to recording and playing live - a common goal. The Zero Point!

Due to this high quality their first two albums, "Here Goes Nothin'" and "Nothin' Goes Here" were even (re-)released by Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab (Original Master Recordings). Simply because the company's high quality approach and Zero's musical output matched. Nevertheless the albums disappeared way to early from the MFSL catalogue and thus became rare collector items.

John Cipollina was a constant member of Zero until his death in 1989. His rhythm guitar playing can be heard on the first three Zero albums. Steve Kimock has always been the lead guitar player and although he is so talented, he is following Cipollina in not getting the recognition he deserves. Another unsung guitar hero. Even Jerry Garcia mentioned Kimock as one of his favorite guitar players, subsequently Zero always had many fans from the Deadhead scene.

 Zero 1995
Zero 1995: Martin Fierro, Chip Roland, Steve Kimock, Bobby Vega, Greg Anton

Martin Fierro
 After their third album "Go Hear Nothin'" which is a live recording, Greg Anton was asked in 1991 to compose a soundtrack for a stageplay based on the mid-sixties film 'The Pawnbroker'. He did this with members of Zero. Unfortunately the soundtrack wasn't released as an album and only available on audio cassette. In 2002 the German Taxim label finally released "Zero Blues" on CD. In addition they also re-released Zero's second album "Nothin' Goes Here".

Over the years Zero released four more records (information provided underneath). Some band members left and others joined. The core of Anton and Kimock being the same. A major change was the addition of Robert Hunter as lyricist and Judge Murphy on vocals. This took Zero to yet another level - bringing their instrumentals together with Hunter's lyrics. The high quality remained.

Zero stopped playing together at the change of the century but returned to play several shows in 2007. Members included: Steve Kimock, Greg Anton, Martin Fierro, Liam Hanrahan, Melvin Seals, Donna Jean Godchaux-MacKay and John Morgan Kimock.

Update 2008: Martin Fierro, who has been a founding member of Zero, passed away Thurday - March 13, 2008 from cancer - please follow the link and read more about Martin on his website.

Zero Discography:

  • 1987 Here Goes Nothin' (Relix Records)
  • 1989 Nothin' Goes Here (Whirled Records)
  • 1991 Go Hear Nothin' (Whirled Records)
  • 1994 Chance In A Million (Whirled Records)
  • 1997 Zero (Pop Mafia)
  • 1998 Nothin' Lasts Forever (Pop Mafia)
  • 2002 Double Zero (2Burn1 Records)
  • 2002 Zero Blues (Taxim Records)

    Here Goes Nothin'Here Goes Nothin'
    (Relix Records, 1987)
    (Mobile Fidelity, 1990)
    Golden Road -- The Core -- Little Wing -- Straight Jackets -- Girls Drums -- Showboat* -- Tear Tags Off Mattresses -- Severe Tire Damage -- Goin Down

    * Showboat on CD only

    Musicians: Steve Kimock, John Cipollina, Greg Anton, John Farey, Steve Wolf, Bruce Unsworth, Scott Roberts, Alex Ligertwood, Martin Fierro, Bobby Vega, Hadi Al-Saadoon, Banana, Howie Howard, Donna Godchaux

    Nothin' Goes HereNothin' Goes Here (Whirled Records, 1989)
    (Taxim Records, 2002)
    A Little Wind A Little Water -- Tongue 'N Groove -- Gregg's Egg's -- Many Rivers To Cross -- This Is Your Brain On Drums -- Tangled Hangers -- Theme From Nancy Germany -- This Is Your Brain -- Super Sonic Transport

    Musicians: Steve Kimock, Banana, Greg Anton, Hadi Al-Saadoon, Bobby Vega, John Kahn, Martin Fierro, John Cipollina, Marty Levine, Dave Cort, Tony Saunders, Ana Rizzo

    Buy It!
    from TAXIM!

    Go Hear Nothin'Go Hear Nothin' (Live)
    (Whirled Records, 1991)
    Who Knows -- Golden Road -- Super Sonic Transport -- Straight Jackets -- Severe Tire Damage -- Gregg's Egg's -- Tangled Hangers -- S.T.D.

    Musicians: Steve Kimock, John Cipollina, Greg Anton, Martin Fierro, Banana, Boby Vega, John Kahn, John Farey, Hadi Al-Saadoon

    Out of print!
    Chance In A MillionChance In A Million
    (Whirled Records, 1994)
    Chance In A Million -- Horses -- Catalina -- End Of The World Blues -- Home On The Range -- Forever Is Nowhere -- Mercury Blues -- Roll Me After

    Musicians: Martin Fierro, Steve Kimock, Greg Anton, Judge Murphy, Pete Sears, Bobby Vega, Liam Hanrahan, John Kahn, Vince Welnick, Nicky Hopkins, Robert Hunter, Kathryn Warner

    (PopMafia, 1997)
    Pits O' Thunder -- Friday's Child -- Roll Me Over -- Spoken For -- Possession -- 8 Below Zero -- Did I Mention -- Sun Sun Sun -- Ermaline -- Kissin' The Boo-boo

    Musicians: Greg Anton, Steve Kimock, Bobby Vega, Chip Roland, Martin Fierro, Judge Murphy, Robert Hunter, Steve Blacke, Pete Sears, Diana Mangano, Benny Velarde, Lonnie Walter

    Nothin' Lasts ForeverNothin' Lasts Forever (Live)
    (Pop Mafia, 1998)
    Cole's Law -- Papa Was A Rollin' Stone -- This Is Your Brain On Drums Part 2 -- Ermaline -- Forever Is Nowhere -- Home On The Range -- Little Wing -- I Want You (She's So Heavy)

    Musicians: Steve Kimock, Greg Anton, Martin Fierro, Chip Roland, Bobby Vega, Judge Murphy, Lonnie Walter

    Double ZeroDouble Zero (Live)
    (2Burn1 Records, 2002)
    Introduction -- Golden Road -- Pits Of Thunder -- Forever Is Nowhere -- Do The Meditation -- You Can't Keep A Good Man Down -- Highway 61 Revisited -- Listen Here -- Into The Mystic -- Greeg's Egg's -- Papa Was A Rollin' Stone -- End Of The World Blues

    Musicians: Greg Anton, Martin Fierro, Steve Kimock, Judge Murphy, Chip Roland, Bobby Vega, Boots Rolf Hughston, Lonnie Walter, Wavy Gravy

    Zero BluesZero Blues
    (Taxim Records, 2002)
    Chainlink Dawn -- Balls Blues -- In A Different Light -- Pale Through Shut Lids -- Out Of Earshot -- Tied To The Trestle -- Meaning Of A Man -- Rivers Of The Moon

    Musicians: Steve Kimock, Greg Anton, Martin Fierro, Terry Haggerty, Liam Hanrahan, Delilah Lewis, Dough Harmon, Isabel Tercero

    Buy It!
    from TAXIM!

    Steve Kimocklead guitarGoodman Brothers, Heart of Gold BandSteve Kimock Band
    Greg Antondrums, piano, organHeart Of Gold BandGregg's Eggs, Quicksilver Gold
    Martin Fierrosax, flute, percussionMother Earth, Jerry Garcia 
    Bananakeyboards, vocalsYoungbloodsSteve Kimock & Friends
    John Cipollinarhythm guitarQuicksilver, Copperhead, Dinosaursonly God knows
    John FareypianoSound Hole, Sly Stone 
    Steve Wolfbass  
    John KahnbassJerry Garcia Band 
    Bobby VegabassSly Stone 
    Judge Murphyvocals  
    Robert HunterlyricsGrateful Dead 
    and many more ... (see discography)


    Further Links:

        Zero's website.
  • Zero @
        Listen to old and new Zero concerts.
        Greg Anton's website.
        Martin Fierro's website.
        Steve Kimock's website.


    © 2002-2015 bay-area-bands.comback